Skip To Main Content

CAASPP Testing

The California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) System was established on January 1st, 2014. The CAASPP System replaced the Standardized Testing and Reporting (STAR) Program, which became inoperative on July 1st, 2013. 

Smarter Balanced Summative Assessments for English language arts/literacy (ELA) and mathematics in grades three through eight and grade eleven.

Student Participation: All students at the designated grade levels are required to participate with the following exceptions: 

  • Students who participate in the alternate assessments
  • ELA only - English learners who are in their first 12 months of attending a school in the United States.

Content and Format: The Smarter Balanced Summative Assessments, which are delivered by computer, consist of two sections: a computer adaptive test and a performance task (PT) based on the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) for ELA and mathematics. The computer adaptive section included a range of time types, such as selected response, constructed response, table, fill-in, graphing, and so forth. The PTs are extended activities that measure a student's ability to integrate knowledge and skills across multiple standards - a key component of college and career readiness. 

California Science Test (CAST)

The statewide California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) System includes federally required science assessments in grades five and eight and once in high school (i.e., grade ten, eleven, or twelve). Since the adoption of the Next Generation Science Standards for California Public Schools, Kindergarten Through Grade Twelve (CA NGSS) in 2013, the California Department of Education developed the California Science Test (CAST), which is aligned with these standards.

High school students will have only one opportunity to take a science test (i.e., in grade ten, eleven, or twelve). Students in grade twelve, who have not yet taken a science test, will automatically be registered to test. Students repeating grade twelve are not eligible to test.

For further information, check out the CDE CAASPP website.

CAASPP Information